»  Cities
»  Towns
»  Mountains
»  Coastline
»  Volcanic
»  Flora
»  Fauna
»  Lakes
»  Rivers
»  Geology
»  Rural
»  Culture
»  License

New Zealand Towns - photos


There are around 600 towns in New Zealand that mainly service the dairy and farming sector. Other towns are conveniently located near tourist hotspots and provide tours and accomodation to nearby attractions. Some beautiful tourist towns include: Queenstown, Wanaka, Kaikoura, Raglan, Te Anau, Paihia, Picton, and Fox Glacier. Read more


Queenstown photos


Ohakune photos


Takaka photos


Blenheim photos


Picton photos


Taupo photos

Te Kuiti

Te Kuiti photos


Greytown photos


Whakatane photos


Taihape photos


Paeroa photos


Kerikeri photos


Kaikoura photos

There are many seaside towns in New Zealand. The country has the ninth longest coastline in the world and beautiful coastal attractions often have towns and small settlements nearby. Many dwellings in coastal settlements are what New Zealanders call their 'holiday home' or 'bach'. This is a home away from home that is visited during the holiday periods like Christmas which takes place in summer. Most inland towns service the rural sector such as the dairy industry, sheep farming, and forestry sectors.

Some inland towns and settlements are located in alpine areas and often exist to cater for skiing during the winter months. Other settlements cater for tourist attractions like volcanic attractions, rivers, lakes, and nearby national parks or mountain ranges.


Oceania photos, maps, & travel by country

OCEANIA: Maps ›› Photos ›› Travel ››

AUSTRALIA: Maps ›› Photos›› Travel ››

NEW ZEALAND: Maps ›› Photos ›› Travel ››

NEW CALEDONIA: Maps ›› Photos ›› Travel ››

TONGA: Maps ›› Photos ›› Travel ››

Author & photographer: David Johnson (Virtual Oceania)

Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF


This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.