Virtual New Zealand logo



  »  Cities
»  Towns
»  Mountains
»  Coastline
»  Volcanic
»  Flora
»  Fauna
»  Lakes
»  Rivers
»  Geology
»  Rural
»  Sport
»  Culture
»  License




New Zealand Cities - photos


New Zealand cities lack the levels of crime and pollution that plague urban areas in other parts of the world. By comparison, cities are safe and friendly, but still have varied night life, restaurants, theatre, and world-class attractions. They are also set within spectacular natural settings. Most have beaches, harbours, hills, and even mountain ranges close by. The largest city Auckland is located in an extinct volcanic field with volcanic cones offering many vantage points. Read more


Auckland photos


Wellington photos


Christchurch photos


Hamilton photos


Tauranga photos

Lower Hutt

Lower Hutt photos


Napier photos


Hastings photos

Palmerston North

Palmerston North photos

New Plymouth

New Plymouth photos


Nelson photos


Rotorua photos


Porirua photos


Wanganui photos

Upper Hutt

Upper Hutt  photos


Gisborne photos


Queenstown photos

Auckland is the most populous city with just under 1.5 million inhabitants. That is more people than the whole South Island which is the biggest island in the New Zealand Archipelago. The city has two harbours, countless beaches, and has more boats per capita tha any other city in the world. The capital and second largest city is Wellington, a beautiful harbour city with a thriving cafe scene, museums, and galleries. Both these cities are located on the more populous NorthIsland.

The biggest city in the South Island and third biggest city in New Zealand is Christchurch. The city is in recovery mode after being struck by a series of powerful earthquakes which decimated the city centre. The rebuild is still in progress, but the city changes by the day as damaged buildings are removed and new buildings are erected. The city is open to tourists and there are still many beautiful old buildings and huge parks within the city.

Other significant cities in New Zealand including Hamilton, Tauranga, Dunedin, New Plymouth, and Palmerston North. New Zealand has around 600 towns, many service the rural and farming sector. Others rely on tourism as they are located near popular tourist spots.



Author & photographer: David Johnson (Virtual New Zealand). Providing a credit or link is appreciated.
Our content: logos, site names, text, photos, and website design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased / licensed & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.