Virtual Australia logo


 »  Help

Google Maps

 »  Australia
»  Sydney
»  Melbourne
»  Brisbane
»  Perth
»  Adelaide
»  Gold Coast
»  Newcastle
»  Canberra
»  Wollongong
»  Sunshine Coast
»  Hobart
»  Geelong
»  Townsville
»  Cairns
»  Darwin
»  Barrier Reef


 »  World view
»  Globe view
»  Australasia
»  Elevation
»  Topography
»  Climate
»  Relief view
»  Cities view

More Maps

 »  Oceania
»  Big Australia
»  Aus Continent

Google Maps of Australia with Search

Change from street maps to satellite imagery with this Google Map of Australia. You can then see landscape and city features, with maximum zoom switching to real photos in 'Street View'.

TIP: Go fullscreen by clicking the icon at the top-right of the map. Then drag the person icon located at the bottom right onto the the map of Australia and you will see a panorama shot of that area.

More map instructions & tips

Extremities in the realm of Australia

NOTE: Australian Antarctic Territory is part of the realm of Australia, but is not included in these statistics.
- Northern most point is Bramble Cay.
- Southern most point is Bishop and Clerk Islets.
- Eastern most point is Steels Point on Norfolk Island.
- Western-most point is Flat Island off the coast of Western Australia.

Extremities of mainland Australia

- Northern-most point is the tip of Cape York in Queensland.
- Southern most point is South Point on Wilsons Promontory in Victoria.
- Eastern-most point is Cape Byron in New South Wales.
- Western-most point is Steep Point in Western Australia.

Byron Bay Sign photo
  Byron Bay Australia

Distance extremities

If you travelled across mainland Australia in a straight line (not diagonal):
- The northern most point to the southern most point is approximately 3680km (2286 miles);
- The eastern most point to the western most point is approximately 4000km (2485 miles).

Altitude extremities

- Highest point on the mainland is Mount Kosciuszko at 2,228 metres (7309 feet).
- Highest point in the realm of Australia is Mawson Peak on Heard Island at 2,744 metres (9002 feet).
- Lowest point on the mainland and the realm of Australia is Lake Eyre at −15 metres (-49 feet).

Mount Kosciuszko photo
  Mount Kosciuszko

Time Zones

There are three time zones in Australia. They are:
- Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST);
- Australian Central Standard Time (ACST);
- Australian Western Standard Time (AWST).

During summer there can be up to 5 different times within the 3 time zones due to some states observing daylight saving or because daylight saving starts at different times for different states. If you consider the realm of Australia, then there are actually six time zones. The extra zones being:
- Christmas Island Time (CXT);
- Lord Howe Standard Time (LHST);
- Norfolk Time (NFT).

Map instructions and tips

- Navigate using the slider to zoom in or out or use the scrollbar on your mouse. Also double click to zoom in.
- To move the map, click down or touch the map, then drag with your mouse or finger.
- Search and zoom in to a specific location using the search box at the top of the map.
- Right click on the map to instantly get latitude and longitude coordinates.
- Click a city linked to the left, for a Google Map & Street View.
- Try 'Satellite' mode for real aerial images.
- View more maps of Australia.
- View photos of Australia.

Author & photographer: David Johnson (Virtual Oceania)


This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.