Virtual Tonga logo


  »  Ha'apai
»  Tongatapu
»  Vava'u

Ha'apai Island Group

Google Map

View Larger Map


Ha'apai is the central group of islands in Tonga, in between Tongatapu and Vava'u groups. This archipelago includes volcanic islands, smaller islets, sand bars, and coral reefs.

The town of Pangai on largest island Lifuka, is the capital of the Ha'apai Group. Another large island is Foa. Smaller islands include Ha'ano, Nukunamo, and 'Uiha, which contains an ancient monument and burial grounds. Two large islands, Tofua and Kao in the far west are both volcanoes. In the south lie the Nomuka island group.


Author & photographer: David Johnson (Virtual Oceania)


This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.