Virtual New Caledonia logo


  »  Amedee Island
»  Divine Island
»  Grande Terre
»  Isle of Pines
»  Loyalty Group

The Loyalty Islands

Satellite Map


The Loyalty Islands is an archipelago containing four main islands, Lifou, Mare, Tiga, and Ouvea. Situated off the east of Grande Terra some 100 kilometers away, the archipelago spans a huge 2,000 square kilomtres.

Inhabited by Melanesians these islands were not suited as colonies of France, so they were designated as native reservations, a status that preserved these islands and culture. To this day, local Kanak customs remain strong and are practiced in daily life. Visitors to these islands experience a truly authentic culture without the tourist trappings.

The Loyalty Islands are also well endowed with beautiful landscapes, beaches, lagoons, and coral. Both the culture and natural attractions make these islands a great place to explore.

Promotional Video

Photo Galleries

Loyalty Islands New Caledonia photos


Author & photographer: David Johnson (Virtual Oceania)



This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.